There’s gonna be no peace when we are done

Hello fellow bloggers and readers!

First of all, I’d like to apologize​ for the lack of book reviews these past two weeks. I thought I’d be able to keep it up with all the moving around that I’ve been doing but I’ve hardly had a peaceful moment to read and therefore, I’ve not posted any review. I hope I’ll be able to next week!

Now that that’s out of the way, let’s get started with the post.

So, like I’ve said, the past few weeks have been a mess and I missed all my shows (I talk like they’re many but it’s just Supernatural and Doctor Who at this point). Yesterday, I finally decided to give up on my sleep and catch up with atleast one of them. And I did.

And if you haven’t guessed it from from the title, that show is Supernatural.

And I’ve got so many things to say, Oh My God!

Firstly, Supernatural writers, what in the name of all that is holy is up with you people?!?! Why do you want to hurt us? Why????

Okay, so before I dive in, SPOILER ALERT!! (I’ve been hurt too much, I’m not promising any kind of discretion here)

There is no doubt that Season 12 seems to be the best season in the post-Kripke era of the show. The plot lines, the character arcs..they’re all nothing short of amazing! But…AT WHAT COST?!

When this season started, I was reaaaaaaallly excited. I had only started watching Supernatural a year ago and I caught up to the then current episodes around the season 11 finale. So when the hiatus finally ended and the new season began, I was like a little kid from a Roald Dahl novel, full of hopes and dreams and happiness and sunshine…

Well, let’s just say, I feel like goddamn Joker right now.

The start of the season was really touching. It felt like they picked it up right where they left off. As is the tradition, the writers did not spend any time trying to make the start seem mushy-mushy. Yes, Mary was back and yes, the boys finally had their mother….but before we could bask in that moment of absolute joy, we had seen Sam getting shot. And there he was, being…assaulted mentally and physically by this psychopathic weird excuse of a human being who was supposedly a member of the British version of the Men of Letters.

When that happened, all I could think of was how Sam’s thinking that Dean’s dead and how Dean doesn’t really comprehend the level of danger Sam was in. Needless to say, that nail-biting excitement the writers managed to inject inside me made me fall in love with the show all over again.

From that scary and weird episode, things only got better. Mary and the boys had their reunion and like everything in their lives, it came with a sad twist. Mary had been Rip Van Winkle-d and she wasn’t really sure who she was. And she decided to leave and figure herself out before anything else. They explored the rocky Mother-Sons relationship and got us viewers all feelsy. They also showed us what a badass hunter Mary was, despite being slightly stupid when it came to making important decisions.

f2427acf399c7a92f36f7b824e9eeac0

On the other hand, the writers did a good job juggling the role of the big bad from the BMoL to Lucifer and then back to BMoL. As a viewer, I was utterly confused for a while, wondering who was going to kill one of the main characters this time(it’s come down to this. *sigh*) Although, I must say, I despise the BMoL but Lucifer is okay sometimes.

IMG_20170517_234227

I also loved how we went deeper into the characters’ lives this season. Be it Castiel, where we saw a new side of him that was stronger and that proved that he is much more than the Winchesters’ love puppy​.

images (15)-1

Or Crowley and Rowena, where we saw a side of the bitter yet powerful love/hate that exists between them. And how, despite everything, there was still so much human left in Crowley.

images (15)

Or even Mary, where we got a bit of insight into her life prior to her marriage with John Winchester from the episode Celebrating the Life of Asa Fox.

12g

We saw a whole bunch of new hunters, too, and we revisited all time favorites Claire Novak and Jody Mills!

images (16)

There were some really iconic moments this season. Some absolutely over the top Oscar deserving performances on the part of the cast and some heart wrenching moments, too.

Also, THEY BLOODY KILLED HITLER! (that was a really, really fun episode)

images (17)

Yes, Sam. I know, right?!!

Be it Dean losing his mind in Regarding Dean

ace534769565671874bf746e4d495608

Or Castiel fighting for his family​ in Fresh Blood

images (18)

Or Sam in pretty much every episode

b70182d0f0470f4756a3781fc5490eeb

the actors just nailed it!

Two moments that will stick with me forever and ever from this season are, however, these:

When Castiel thought he was dying and decided to let the people he loves know he loves them (i.e., he confessed his love for Dean Winchester but sure let’s pretend it wasn’t that)

unnamed (11)

And that moment when the boys talk about how their legacy is the lives they’ve saved. For some reason, that moment in the show made me feel like all that they’d gone through and everything under the sun that they had endured, it was all worth it. In some way. And they got to celebrate that. Even if it was just for a moment. The scene where they carved their initials on that table like they had on Baby’s dashboard when they were kids…..it just.  It makes my heart swell. I would like to take a moment to applaud the writers and thank them for doing this. In a way, it also felt like they were telling us, the fans, who have stuck them for so long that it was worth it, too.

unnamed (12)

I laughed with the boys, cried with them…lived with them. But nothing could’ve prepared me for how dark the show has turned , gradually, through the season.

They did take it a bit too far(read: too real) with the whole President is Satan thing. And now we have an antichrist on the way. And he’s due on the finale of the show. WHICH IS TWO HOURS LONG. AND IN ONE DAY. I’M GOING TO DIE!

When I was watching ‘Twigs & Twine & Tasha Banes‘ and ‘There’s Something about Mary‘ yesterday, I could feeel the sense of impending doom.

Eileen Leahy dead?? And that too, mauled by a Hell Hound?? SUPPLIED BY CROWLEY?!? (When there seemed to be something, finally, for Sam and her??)

Mary being mind-controlled and being forced to kill the hunters who were not siding with the BMoL???

The boys being gas chambered in their own bloody bunker???

I mean, COME ON!

Like we haven’t had our hearts wrung out already?!? To be honest, I really don’t know what to expect out of the finale. I know there’s going to be pain and a lot of it. And I know there’s going to be crying and a lot of it, too, atleast from my side. (The boys will probably have their ‘one perfect tear’s, that’s all.) The pictures I’ve seen scare me. I feel like there’s no escaping this finale. All of us fans are going to die. That’s it. That’s how it ends.

Also, I don’t know if I can trust that Antichrist. Doesn’t seem so bad but man, even as a baby, he’s freed his dad from Crowley’s magic. Kind of gets me thinking about what he could do if he grew up. Which reminds me…where is that kid from Plucky Pennywhistle’s Magical Menagerie??? I think he could be of some help to the boys.

Anyway, as terrified as I am, I’m also really excited and pumped for what’s to come. With Castiel gone a little wonky and Crowley in a rat and the Boys almost dying……I MEAN WHAT ARE YOU GOING TO DO NOW, CRUEL WRITERS?!?!?!

You don’t have to answer me, I’ll find out in 24 hours.

Leave a Reply

